What is IAS? And who can become an IAS officer?

IAS is considered to be the most respected job in Indian society. Only the President of India can suspend an IAS officer. IAS officers get this post, which is as follows. IAS Coaching in Dehradun also offers a great opportunity to people who want to ISA in the future. 

  • District Collector
  • commissioner
  • Chief Secretary
  • heads of public sector units
  • cabinet secretary
  • Election Commissioner etc.


IAS Officer full form and other information

Indian Administrative Service.

The Indian Administrative Service is the top rank and most prestigious administrative civil service in India.


What is IAS?

IAS is called Indian Administrative Service in Hindi. Under the Indian Administrative Service, the District Collector is made, which is called District Magistrate in Hindi. District Magistrate is called DM in short form. Who are the administrative officers of the entire district? Under that district, the IPS officer also has to work with him by establishing himself in time. DM is the highest officer of the district in India.


Eligibility to become IAS Officer:

Students are confused about IAS qualification. Your confusion will be cleared today. Read and understand in simple and easy language.



Candidates having a degree (Graduation) in any discipline from a recognized university or candidate who is in the final year of graduation can also apply for the exam, any vocational and technical like MBBS, BTech, Degree holders in Agriculture and Computer, etc. can also apply in this exam.



For Indian Administrative Service and Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India.


Age Range

  • General- The maximum age for a candidate is 32 years.
  • The maximum age for OBC candidates is 35 years.
  • SC/ST- The maximum age for a candidate is 37 years.
  • Maximum Age for Physically Handicapped Candidates
  • General – 42 Years
  • OBC – 45 Years
  • SC/ST – 47 Years.


In Civil Services Examination, what are the posts other than IAS?

How to prepare for IAS is a very complicated question, you have to study with some patience. The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is called the Indian Administrative Service, the civil service examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), the civil service examination selected candidate gets an appointment to these posts.


  • Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
  • Indian Police Service (IPS)
  • Indian Forest Service (IFS)
  • Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS) – Income Tax
  • Indian Revenue Service (IRS) – Customs &
  • Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)
  • Indian Defense Accounts Service (IDAS)
  • Indian Defense Estates Service (IDES)
  • Indian Economic Service (IES)
  • Indian Ordnance Factory Services (IOFS)
  • Indian Postal & Telegraph Accounts & Finance Service (IP&TAFS)
  • Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)
  • Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)
  • Indian Information Service (IIS)
  • Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
  • Railway Protection Force (RPF)
  • Central Secretariat Service
  • Defense Secretariat Service
  • Union Territory Administrative Service
  • Union Territory Police Service
  • state services
  • state administrative service
  • state police service
  • State Forest Service
  • Public Service Department, etc.


How many times can I appear in the IAS exam?

  • Gen – 6
  • OBC – 9
  • SC / ST – Unlimited number
  • Physically Handicapped – 9 attempts for General and OBC, while unlimited for SC/ST.


How to apply for the IAS exam?

If you are able to meet the eligibility criteria for the IAS exam. So you can apply online and offline also. Before applying, make sure that the number of attempts you have attempted. How is your preparation? Because the number of attempts is limited, you’ll need to look at your age as well. If you delay for a long time, it may be that you will lose your age. You know that coaching is also available for free for civil service examination.


UPSC website –


What is the exam process?

The IAS exam is conducted in 3 stages, the first stage is called preliminary and the second is called mains, the third is called interview. Only those who clear the preliminary exam can appear for mains and interviews. You must be knowing that you have to work hard to get better results because the syllabus of the IAS exam is vast.

What is the best way to remember?? Who should be helped to understand the whole syllabus?? Assess the previous year’s exam paper by your preparation, and go through the interview of IAS toppers. Once you resolve that I want to become an IAS, the path will automatically become easy.


You will be surprised to know the power of IAS Officer:

  • Implementing and monitoring the policies of the Government of India and the State Governments comes under the purview of the IAS officer.
  • Keeping the accounts of the funds of the members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha of the government machinery also comes under the jurisdiction of the IAS officer.
  • The government makes the policies and the IAS officer works to formulate them, implement them and ensure that it continues to function as expected.
  • If there is any irregularity in the field of IAS officer concerned, the IAS is answerable to the state legislature.
  • All the development work in the area is to be handled by the respective IAS of that area and to take care of law and order.
  • An IAS has the power to make policies and implement them according to finance, but the decision is taken by the minister under whom the IAS is working.
  • Tax courts also come under the authority of the IAS of that area.
  • The main duty of the IAS is to maintain law and order in that area.
  • IAS works as the Executive District Magistrate.
  • There is a need to monitor and implement the policies made by the state and central government, which are always taken care of by the IAS of that area.
  • Travel to remote places to monitor policy implementation.
  • Monitoring the expenditure of public funds and using them according to ownership.
  • As far as policy-making and decision making is concerned, IAS works at different levels of the hierarchy such as undersecretaries, secretaries, etc.
  • Sometimes policies have to be defined and contributed to shaping them.
  • Apart from this, it is also necessary to monitor the implementation of the policy in consultation with the minister responsible for the management of the daily activities of the government and the concerned department.
  • The IAS officer is the head of the Indian Administrative Service.


Conclusion Point:

IPS Full Form – Indian Police Services, which is called Indian Police Service. IPS is the highest officer of the police service, which people know as IG, DIG, SP, and DSP.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button