Real Betis won the title after 16 years

Real Betis have won the Copa del Rey, the second most prestigious tournament in Spanish domestic football. The club won the title on Saturday night after a long 17-year defeat to Valencia in a tiebreaker.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

The score was tied at 1-1 in the scheduled 90 minutes of the main match at La Cartuza Stadium in Sevilla. Neither team was able to score in the extra 30 minutes. Betis later won the Copa del Rey for the third time, winning 5-4 in a tiebreaker.

Betis dominated the entire match. They control 75 percent of the time in the fight for possession. 14 shots for the goal, 4 were along the target. In contrast, Valencia also aimed 4 shots. Both teams get one goal each.

Borha Iglesias put Betis ahead in the 11th minute of the match. It didn’t take long for Valencia to equalize, with Hugo Duro scoring in the 30th minute. No goal was scored for the rest of the match. As a result, the game ended in a tiebreaker.

Where Valencia takes the first shot. Both teams were able to score in their first three shots. However, Valencia’s Yunus Musa blew the fourth shot. Matin Betis’s players celebrated the title when Juan Miranda sent the fifth shot into the net.

With this, Betis won the Copa del Rey title after 198 and 2005. This is the first time since 2005 that a major title has been won in their home. They have won the Copa del Rey for the second time outside Barcelona and Real Madrid in the last ten years.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Check Also
Back to top button