Most accurate and complete information about UPSC IAS Exam

Today, through this post, we will tell you in detail all the information about UPSC of India’s biggest exam. IAS coaching in Dehradun, So I hope you will read the post till the end. “May you be successful in the Civil Services Examination”, with this best wishes, let us know about UPSC information.


UPSC information:

The full name of UPSC is Union public service commission. It is a body or institution established by the Constitution of India which organizes and conducts the country’s biggest job civil service as well as many other examinations. Let us know about UPSC civil services-

Before knowing the syllabus of UPSC, let us understand its examination system.

The UPSC exam is completed in 3 phases which are as follows-

  1. Prelims exam
  2. Mains exams
  3. Interview


Let us now understand each in detail about each phase.

1. Preliminary examination:

This is the first stage of the civil service examination. Its nature is of objective type.

There are 2 exams to be given in this phase

(i) General studies

(ii) CSAT

Both these questions are 200-200 marks, so this preliminary exam is of a total of 400 marks. There are 100 questions of 2-2 marks in the first paper i.e. General Studies question, whereas in the second paper, there are 80 questions of 2.5-2.5 marks, in this, the second question paper called CSAT, Qualifying Paper (Qualifying Paper ) occurs as It means to say that only 33% marks (about 27 questions or 66 marks) have to be passed in this exam. It does not play any role in determining the cut-off for prelims.

The cut-off for the prelims exam is determined only by the first paper, which is called the general studies paper. The minimum marks on which the candidate can be selected are called the cut-off.


What is an Objective type exam?

Let us tell you that this exam is objective type, that is, there are 4-4 options along with questions in both the papers, in which the competitive student has to choose 1 correct option. This examination system is called an objective-type examination.


Negative marking

There is a system of negative marking in both of these papers. In this, for every 3 questions wrong, marks equal to 1 correct answer are deducted. In simple words, the candidate gets 2 marks for each correct question in the General Studies paper and 0.67 marks are deducted for each wrong question. If we talk about CSAT, then 2.5 marks are given for each correct question and 0.83 marks are deducted for each wrong mark, this type of negative marking system is called 0.33 or 1/3 negative marking.


UPSC Mains Exam Syllabus:

Students who pass the UPSC Prelims exam by scoring more than the cut-off marks take the UPSC MAINS exam, the next stage of it, there are a total of 9 exams under this stage. Out of these, 7 exams are 250 marks and 2 exams are of 300 marks. Out of these 7 exams, whose marks are 250-250, their marks are added to the interview marks for the final selection cut-off. The remaining 2 exams are of qualifying nature. That is, only they have to pass with minimum marks. Thus UPSC MAINS EXAM is of a total of 1750 marks.


UPSC Mains Exam pattern: upsc syllabus

Let us tell you that the UPSC prelims exam is of objective type but the UPSC Mains exam is in written form.

In this, the questions of the question paper have to be answered in your own words. Words are prescribed for each answer. Some questions have to be answered in 150 words, some in 200 words, and some in 250 words. In this way, this exam is a multidimensional and high-level exam, after passing which the candidate becomes directly eligible for Interview or Personality test (PT).


UPSC Mains papers:

The following exams are held in this phase of UPSC IAS Mains –

  1. Essay paper (Essay): 250 Marks
  2. Gs paper 1 (General Studies I): 250 marks
  3. Gs Paper 2 (General Studies II): 250 marks
  4. Gs Paper 3 (General Studies III): 250 Marks
  5. Gs Paper 4 (General Studies IV): 250 Marks
  6. Optional Subject Paper 1 (Optional Subject First Paper): 250 Marks
  7. Optional Subject Paper 2: 250 Marks
  8. Indian Language (Any one Indian language): 300 Marks
  9. English: 300 Marks


UPSC Interview | Personality Test:

The candidate who qualifies by securing the minimum cut-off marks in the UPSC Mains exam moves to the final stage of the UPSC selection process. This is the stage of the Interview or Personality test. It is 250 marks, for this, a special panel is set up, they interview the candidate and give him the number after seeing the essential qualities inside him. This obtained score is added to the final selection.


UPSC Final Selection list:

When the candidate gives the interview then he has to wait for the final selection result. After a few days, the UPSC commission releases the final selection list in which all the candidates check their names with roll numbers. The person whose name remains in that list is the upsc selected. And he is given a post and cadre according to his rank.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button