How to become an IAS Officer| What is the full form of IAS?

IAS Full Form Meaning of IAS – The full form of IAS is Indian Administrative Services,  It is the post of an administrative officer in the highest positions of a central government. This is seen with great respect, IAS is also called the back mind government of the government, that is, the IAS officer is called the brain of the government. Which keeps giving various suggestions to the government, which the government implements after careful discussion.

Lakhs of young men and women in India dream of becoming an Indian Administrative Services officer and also preparing for its examination, let us tell you, the civil services exam is very difficult, every year more than 6 lakh applications come, out of which only 1000 Only is selected.  so you can join IAS Coaching in Dehradun. If you have also dreamed of becoming an IAS officer and want to fulfill it, before that you must know about IAS Full Form – What is IAS, Eligibility & Age Criteria.

This is basic information about what is completed to become an IAS officer. In this blog article, you are going to get detailed information about IAS Full Form – What is the full form of IAS and how to become an IAS Officer.


What is Indian Administrative Services called?

IAS, which is the full name of Indian Administrative Services, is one of the higher posts of the Indian Administrative Services.

Those who attain this post are called Indian Administrative Services Officers and are appointed to the posts of District Collector, Commissioner, Chief Secretary, Cabinet Secretary, Election Commissioner, and Head of Public Sector Units.


What is an Indian Administrative Services officer?

It is a high officer of Indian Administrative Services, who is the first and highest person of a district (where he is appointed) and is called IAS officer or DM (District Magistrate).

This post is given to such selected and promising people who complete many stages of the UPSC Exam (Union Public Service Commission), and give their best in it. To become an IAS officer, a candidate has to clear three exams (Mains exam, Mains exam, and Interview test).

When the candidate gives the best in these exams and the higher authority feels that he has the ability to become an IAS officer, apart from this, on the basis of better performance, he is given the post of Indian Administrative Services, which is made an IAS officer according to the rank he has come. goes.


Power of Indian Administrative Services


The power of the post of an Indian Administrative Services officer can be inferred from the fact that all the officers of the district (SP including Superintendent of Police) work within it. Apart from this, even the Prime Minister has to stand before an IAS officer at the time of elections, thus it can be said that IAS is one of the three All India Services of the country along with IPS and IFoS. The full meaning of IAS is Indian Administrative Service. IAS is one of the most prestigious services of the Govt.


How did the post of IAS start?

The term owes its origin to the British government that occupied India in the form of the East India Company and trade. The British Government of that time started the post of Imperial Civil Service (ICS) in 1858 to run the governance power in different provinces. When India gained independence from the British in 1947 and India’s own longest-written constitution in the world came into force on 26 January 1950, the Imperial Civil Services was renamed the Indian Administrative Services.


What to do to become an Indian Administrative Services

To become an IAS, you must first do graduation in any subject, without graduation, you cannot become an Indian Administrative Services. But yes you can start preparing for the IAS exam with graduation. In graduation also, you should choose a subject that will help you in the Indian Administrative Services exam.


How to become an IAS officer

The only way to become an IAS officer is hard work and understanding, on the basis of which you too can be a contender for this post. Of course, it takes many years of day and night hard work to get this post, if you can do this, then UPSC can have a vacant post of Indian Administrative Services officer for you too, there are many criteria that you can fulfill You can become an IAS officer, even if you do not have any hope of getting this post, yet you can at least know how to become an Indian Administrative Services officer by reading this blog. Which has been explained in detail further.


Eligibility to become an Indian Administrative Services

To become an IAS officer, a candidate has to fulfill several qualifications only after which he/she is eligible to appear for the UPSC exam. Further, all those qualifications have been told, if you fulfill them, then you too can apply for its examination.


Educational Qualification to become IAS –

IAS candidates must have a graduate degree from a recognized university in any field to appear in the UPSC Mains exam.

Apart from this, candidates of any technical course like –, BCA, Agriculture, and Business can also apply for the UPSC exam. Even if the candidate is in the final year of graduation i.e. in the last session, he/she can still apply and prepare for the Civil Services Exam.


What is the age limit for the IAS exam?

A candidate between the age of a minimum of 21 and a maximum of 32 years can appear for the UPSC Civil Services Examination.

Maximum age Category
32 years. General
35 years. OBC category candidates
37 years maximum age for isThe maximum age limit for SC/ST candidates
(42 Years)(45 Years)

(47 Years)

Physically Handicapped candidates 





Category-wise Age Limit for UPSC Civil Services Exam

Categories Upper Age Relaxation Age limit
IAS Age Limit for General 0 21 to 32 years
IAS Age Limit for SC/ST 5 years 21 to 37 years
IAS Age Limit for OBC 3 years 21 to 35 years
IAS Age Limit for PwBD 10 years 21 to 42 years
Personnel disabled in hostilities by the Defense Services 3 years 21 to 35 years
Ex-servicemen 5 years 21 to 37 years


IAS UPSC Number of Attempts for All Categories

general 6 Attempts
EWS 6 Attempts
OBC 9 Attempts
SC/ST up to the age limit
physically challenged candidates 9 attempts for General and OBC candidates and unlimited attempts for SC/ST candidates (up to age limit)


How to apply for the IAS exam?

If If you wish to sit for the main examination of the Indian Administrative Services conducted by UPSC every year, you can apply online or offline via the UPSC website, where all your details will be needed. The information about one thing has to be filled in the form.


IAS Selection Process:

To become an Indian Administrative Services officer you have to go through three different stages of examinations:-

Preliminary Examination – In this, 2 General Studies question papers are given, which are 200 – 200 i.e. 400 marks.

Mains Exam – In this the candidate is given 9 question paper which is an exam of 2350.

Interview – There is an interview of up to 45 minutes in which merit is made on the basis of marks obtained on the basis of your qualification and answer given the answers to the questions asked there.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button