Electronic Travel Authority for New Zealand

Electronic Travel Authority for New Zealand

What is the eTA New Zealand?

The eTA for New Zealand (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) is an electronic travel authorisation for citizens of visa waiver countries.

The NZeTA launched in August 2019 and although it is not a visa, it has been a mandatory entry document since October 2019.

Eligible travellers can easily obtain their NZeTA to visit the country for tourism, business purposes, or transit to another country.

The NZeTA visa waiver is obligatory for the following passengers entering New Zealand:

  • Citizens of all 60 visa waiver countries
  • Cruise travellers of all nationalities
  • Transit travellers to another country (necessary for 191 countries)

Citizens from eTA New Zealand eligible countries and eligible transit passengers can easily obtain an eTA for New Zealand by completing a simple online application form.

The Transit NZeTA is mandatory for transit passengers making a stopover in NZ, who do not hold a New Zealand visa.

There is no need to visit an embassy or consulate and the eTA New Zealand online application form only takes a matter of minutes to complete.

This means that all eligible travellers who wish to visit New Zealand for tourism or business purposes for short-term stays, or transit through Auckland International Airport, will need to apply for an eTA visa waiver to New Zealand before departure.

Most applications are processed in 1 to 2 business days. Once approved, the New Zealand ETA (NZeTA) is sent to the petitioner electronically to the email address the user provides in their application form.

The New Zealand eTA is valid for 2 years from the moment it is granted, and can be used for multiple visits.

To obtain the NZeTA visa waiver, applicants are required to pay a small processing fee and a tourist tax known as the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL).

The IVL has been introduced as a way for travellers to contribute directly to the tourism infrastructure and help protect the natural environment they enjoy during their stay in New Zealand.

Who needs an eTA for New Zealand?

From the 1st of October 2019 onwards, passport holders from all 60 visa waiver countries (can travel to New Zealand Visa for US Citizens without a visa for up to 90 days) are required to apply for an NZeTA for tourism before departing towards the country.

Nationals from the UK can enter for up to 6 months and Australians hold residency status on arrival.

Even travellers just transiting through New Zealand on the way to a third-country destination have to obtain an NZeTA for transit.

The eTA New Zealand —for transit or tourism— is valid for a total of 2 years from the date it is issued.

Passport holders from the 60 visa-waiver countries listed below need an eTA for New Zealand. The requirement also applies to children travelling to New Zealand.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button